interesting-people message

[Date Prev] | [Thread Prev] | [Thread Next] | [Date Next] -- [Date Index] | [Thread Index] | [interesting-people Home]


Subject: Alleged internet scam


Date: Mon, 15 Nov 1993 11:53:36 -0500
From: Tony Rutkowski <amr@smtp.sprint.com>
Subject: Internet Scam


What seems like the first visible Internet scam is now
taking place.  Help in finding out more is appreciated.


My Communications Week International friends forwarded a fax
press release they received dated 11 November from a "International
Internet Association."  It references the "electronic
highway" being the Internet and then says that "...we
have just received funding to provide unlimited free access
to the Internet for users in United Kingdom."


The press release states: "Our organizations [sic] purpose
is to promote the free flow of information without regard
to position or affiliation."


It gives a Washington DC postal address, phone number and
fax number.  If you call, you get an automatic answering
machine with a rather sleezy message, promising you they
will call back.  The location is given at: 2020 Pennsylvania
Ave, N.W., room 852.




+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+
| Tony Rutkowski               tel: +1 703 689 5080 |
| Sprint International         fax: +1 703 689 7718 |
| 12490 Sunrise Valley Drive                        |
| Reston  VA  22096                                 |
| USA                                               |
|   Bringing Internetworking Services to the World  |
+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+


[Date Prev] | [Thread Prev] | [Thread Next] | [Date Next] -- [Date Index] | [Thread Index] | [interesting-people Home]


Powered by eList eXpress LLC