interesting-people message

[Date Prev] | [Thread Prev] | [Thread Next] | [Date Next] -- [Date Index] | [Thread Index] | [interesting-people Home]


Subject: IP: more on Whose Pal Is PayPal? [note comment re single letter domaine at end]



>Date: Wed, 26 Jul 2000 10:37:52 -0700
>To: farber@cis.upenn.edu
>From: Simon Higgs <simon@higgs.com>
>
>At 07:00 AM 7/26/00 -0400, Dave Farber wrote:
>
>I've had a run-in with Pay Pal courtesy of Commission Junction, the 
>affiliate advertising company. Commission Junction provides advertisements 
>which you can put on your web pages, which pay either commission on sales 
>or click-thru's (or both). Commission Junction were sending a check to us 
>every month. The checks didn't bounce and life was happy. Then, for some 
>unexplainable reason, Commission Junction informed us that, instead of 
>sending us a check, they had deposited the amount they were going to send 
>us into Pay Pal and that we needed to create an account on Pay Pal to 
>receive the money.
>
>So, unhappy, but thinking this could maybe work (e-commerce <groan>), we 
>logged into Pay Pal - only to discover that Pay Pal would not release the 
>money to us until we had given them a credit card number. So now Pay Pal 
>owe us the money from Commission junction, and they want a credit card 
>number before they will send us the money. No thanks. They Pay Pal claimed 
>that they were using the credit card information to validate the mailing 
>address to send the check under the guise of a fraud prevention act. 
>Highly dubious. I know of no-one else who wants a credit card number just 
>to mail me a check.
>
>In the end, since Commission Junction had violated their own terms and 
>conditions by doing this, they still continue to mail us the check 
>themselves every month.
>
>And since we were *FORCED* to create the Pay Pal account by Commission 
>Junction, I expect most of the 2.4 million accounts to be long since 
>abandoned. I have no use for it.
>
>Two other things to note:
>
>1. A fake web site (www.paypai.com) was set up to steal Pay Pal names and 
>passwords:
>http://www.msnbc.com/news/435937.asp
>
>2. www.paypal.com, redirects you to X.COM. A single letter domain name 
>taken from the RESERVED single letter domain name pool at IANA. No one 
>wants to explain, or be accountable for, how they got the domain name. And 
>no-one at ICANN wants to make the situation equitable to all by releasing 
>the other single letter domains. But that's a whole other can of worms...


[Date Prev] | [Thread Prev] | [Thread Next] | [Date Next] -- [Date Index] | [Thread Index] | [interesting-people Home]


Powered by eList eXpress LLC