interesting-people message

[Date Prev] | [Thread Prev] | [Thread Next] | [Date Next] -- [Date Index] | [Thread Index] | [interesting-people Home]


Subject: IP: .us Scam


------ Forwarded Message
From: Art Wolinsky <awolinsky@oii.org>
Date: Tue, 30 Apr 2002 20:00:31 -0400
To: dave@farber.net
Subject: .us Scam


I just received this.  Thought it might be of interest as a follow up to
the .us sell off thread.

I can't help but remember the words of P.T. Barnum and wonder what
percentage of people receiving the scam mailing actually fall for it.

Art

>Dear Valued Go Daddy customer,
>
>Tuesday morning, alert Go Daddy customers notified me that another
>scammer is after your personal information. Our legal team is already
>working with the FBI to take any and all appropriate action.
>
>In the meantime, I want to make sure you're informed and protected. Here
>are the details of the scam:
>
>Someone is sending emails to our recent .US domain registrants. The emails
>are disguised as coming from " sales@godaddy.com ".  This is a legitimate Go
>Daddy email address, but these emails are not coming from us.
>
>The scammer's email instructs recipients to divulge - via fax - their Go
>Daddy account login, user name and password; their Social Security
>Number; and proof of address. The pretence provided is that this
>information is needed to verify eligibility for the .US domain. Again, the
>scammers are requesting this information be sent to a fax number in
>Nevada.
>
>I want you to know two things: First, Go Daddy would never ask for this
>information, in any form, period. We'd never ask for your Social Security
>number. And we never ask you to fax or mail us your personal information.
>
>Second, the scammers did not get your email contact information from Go
>Daddy. Scam artists constantly probe the "Whois" database, the central
>repository of ownership information for all domain name owners. (You can
>think of the Whois database as being the Internet equivalent of your local
>County Recorder's office. Real estate ownership information is required by
>law to be public; it's the same with domain name ownership
>
>I won't speculate as to the intent of these scammers, but it can't be
>good. So please: If you receive one of the emails I've described above (or
>any other communication that makes you suspicious in the future) please do
>not respond to them! Instead, forward them to the special address I've set
>up: alert@godaddy.com
>
>Your best protection against scammers is awareness. So please stay on
>guard, and if you receive any communication that strikes you as
>suspicious, forward it to alert@godaddy.com
>
>Sincerely,
>
>Bob Parsons
>President,
>Go Daddy Software, Inc.
>http://www.godaddy.com/

******************************************************************
  Art Wolinsky
  OII Technology Director      Big6 Associate
  http://oii.org                      http://www.big6.com
  awolinsky@oii.org             Web-and-Flow Team
  (609) 597-9481 ext
337      http://www.web-and-flow.com

******************************************************************
I am perfectly capable of learning from my mistakes.
I will surely learn a great deal today.
******************************************************************




------ End of Forwarded Message

For archives see:
http://www.interesting-people.org/archives/interesting-people/


[Date Prev] | [Thread Prev] | [Thread Next] | [Date Next] -- [Date Index] | [Thread Index] | [interesting-people Home]


Powered by eList eXpress LLC