[Date Prev] | [Thread Prev] | [Thread Next] | [Date Next] -- [Date Index] | [Thread Index] | [interesting-people Home]
Subject: [IP] PayPal scam?
------ Forwarded Message From: "Alan A. Reiter" <alan.reiter@verizon.net> Reply-To: <reiter@wirelessinternet.com> Date: Thu, 24 Apr 2003 10:07:57 -0400 To: "David Farber" <farber@cis.upenn.edu> Subject: PayPal scam? Hi Dave, I don't know if you've seen this, but it looks like a scam using PayPal. I just received a realistic-looking e-mail, supposedly from PayPal, under the heading of Paysecurity" with the e-mail address of paysecurity@paypal.com and the subject of "Dear PayPal Customer." The e-mail says: "This e-mail is the notification of recent innovations taken by PayPal to detect inactive customers and non-functioning mailboxes. The inactive customers are subject to restriction and removal in the next 3 months. Please confirm your email address and and [Note the extra "and"] Credit Card info number by logging in to your PayPal account using the form below:" Here's the information it requests: Email Address: Password: Full Name #: Billing Adress #: [Note the misspelling of "address"] Billing State #: Credit Card #: Exp.Date(mm/yy) #: ATM PIN (Bank Verification) #: In the fine print, there's a paragraph that says, "If you previously asked to be excluded from Providian product offerings and solicitations, they apologize for this e-mail. Every effort was made to ensure that you were excluded from this e-mail. If you do not wish to receive promotional e-mail from Providian, go to http://removeme.providian.com/." I looked at www.providian.com and it's a credit card company. I don't know if it's sending this e-mail, whether it's used for "credibility" or whether it has anything do to with this. I assume this e-mail is a scam, just like the phony Earthlink scam that requested user information and looked very realistic, too. Alan --------------------------------- Alan A. Reiter, president Wireless Internet & Mobile Computing consulting E-Mail: reiter@wirelessinternet.com Phone: 1-301-951-0385 Weblog: http://reiter.weblogger.com Web site: http://www.wirelessinternet.com ------ End of Forwarded Message ------------------------------------- To manage your subscription, go to http://v2.listbox.com/member/?listname=ip Archives at: http://www.interesting-people.org/archives/interesting-people/
[Date Prev] | [Thread Prev] | [Thread Next] | [Date Next] -- [Date Index] | [Thread Index] | [interesting-people Home]
Powered by eList eXpress LLC