[Date Prev] | [Thread Prev] | [Thread Next] | [Date Next] -- [Date Index] | [Thread Index] | [interesting-people Home]
Subject: [IP] more on query for help - probably NOT a malicious site
Delivered-To: dfarber+@ux13.sp.cs.cmu.edu Date: Tue, 16 Mar 2004 10:09:29 -0500 From: Ethan Ackerman <eackerma@u.washington.edu> Subject: RE: [IP] query for help - probably NOT a malicious site To: dave@farber.net Greetings Dave, I don't believe anything malicious is occurring, though with the limitations of displaying URLs and malicious sites passing off as legit sites by using obfuscated addresses and etc., you are probably wise to be concerned. "Obidos" is the name of the main server at Amazon's Seattle office, it looks like the address is passing arguments to it, probably an extension of Amazon's attempts at personalization. A former (1998- 2000) Amazon employee, Andres Hermosilla, who went to law school with me explained that the main server was named after a region on the Iberian peninsula. When I click on a link to, or type in, www.amazon.com , it similarly resolves to the same obidos address (except the numbers following the .html/ are different for me.) -Ethan Ethan Ackerman ------------------------------------- To manage your subscription, go to http://v2.listbox.com/member/?listname=ip Archives at: http://www.interesting-people.org/archives/interesting-people/
[Date Prev] | [Thread Prev] | [Thread Next] | [Date Next] -- [Date Index] | [Thread Index] | [interesting-people Home]
Powered by eList eXpress LLC