interesting-people message

[Date Prev] | [Thread Prev] | [Thread Next] | [Date Next] -- [Date Index] | [Thread Index] | [interesting-people Home]


Subject: [IP] Re: The Whack-A-Mole Method of Ending Hate In Our Time


Dave and I agree djf

________________________________________
From: David P. Reed [dpreed@reed.com]
Sent: Monday, March 24, 2008 11:07 AM
To: David Farber
Cc: ip
Subject: Re: [IP] The Whack-A-Mole Method of Ending Hate In Our Time

May I suggest that corporations don't have inherent "rights"?
Corporations are created by a process under law that creates an entity
that has a finite set of explicit rights, along with a requirement that
they fulfill a set of explicit *responsibilities* in return.

Anthropomorphizing corporations such as "registrars" does not help
resolve controversy.  It just adds irrelevant miscommunications to a melee.

The cited "right" of a corporation to decide with whom it chooses to do
business is not a true "right".  And corporations are not "free"
entities - they are inherently bound by the rules under which they are
constructed (be that in the State of Delaware or under King George [he
of the infamous tax on tea]).

All *men* are endowed with certain inalienable rights.  Corporations are
not.

David Farber wrote:
> ________________________________________
> From: John Berryhill [john@johnberryhill.com]
> Sent: Monday, March 24, 2008 10:11 AM
> To: David Farber
> Subject: The Whack-A-Mole Method of Ending Hate In Our Time
>
> Clearly whatever it is that Dutch politician Geert Wilders wants to talk
> about in his film is going to be the end of the internet.  The news that
> Network Solutions decided to pre-empt his use of a domain name registered
> through them for the purpose of promoting his film need not be re-hashed
> here.
>
> However, before bemoaning yet another registrar freely deciding, as is its
> right, with whom it chooses to do business, it's important to look at the
> big picture.  No, it is not "censorship" for Network Solutions to decide how
> it wants its services to be used.  There are a number of internet registrars
> all over the world, and as recently demonstrated with Enom having been
> notified by the US State Department that, yes, the OFAC SDN list means
> something, one might do well to select one's registrar based in part on an
> understanding of the legal climate where that registrar is located.
>
> But, perhaps we might understand Network Solutions policy more clearly by
> looking at domain names registered through NSI which freely promote killing
> Muslims rather than merely making films about them.  Take for example the
> Liberation Tigers of Tamil Elam, affectionately the Tamil Tigers - a nearly
> universally recognized terrorist group perhaps best known for the
> assassination of Rajiv Gandhi, but which has engaged in far more numerous
> outright massacres in predominately Muslim areas of Sri Lanka.
>
> The Tamil Tigers maintain at least two, if not more, domain names through
> Network Solutions - eelam.com and eelamweb.com.  Here, one can learn the
> answers to all of your frequently asked questions about ethnic cleansing
> such as at: http://www.eelamweb.com/faq/ which states "Muslims have been
> asked to leave the Tamil Eelam territory until the independence of Tamil
> Eelam."  This polite request is normally made at gunpoint during operations
> of the Tamil Tigers.
>
> So, the takeaway from these two actions of Network Solutions: (1)
> prohibiting an NSI domain name to be used to promote an anti-Muslim film,
> and (2) permitting two NSI domain names to be used to promote the mass
> eviction and murder of Muslims in Sri Lanka; indicates that one needs to
> apply a balanced perspective of how NSI would like its domain name services
> to be used, before making rash judgments of alleged "bias".  If the
> continued operation of eelam.com and eelamweb.com is any indication, NSI's
> view would appear to be that Mr. Wilders just isn't going far enough.
>
> Next up, the Islamic Army of Iraq, and their Louisiana brigade, courtesy of
> iaisite.info, registered through Directnic.
>
>
>
> John Berryhill, Ph.d., Esq.
> 4 West Front St.
> Media, PA  19063
> (610) 565-5601
> (267) 386-8115 fax
>
>
>
>
> -------------------------------------------
>
>

-------------------------------------------


[Date Prev] | [Thread Prev] | [Thread Next] | [Date Next] -- [Date Index] | [Thread Index] | [interesting-people Home]


Powered by eList eXpress LLC